ReadAloud vs OpenAI Text to Speech

A sourced comparison of ReadAloud and OpenAI Text to Speech (a model vendor), built from OpenAI Text to Speech's public pages as of October 10, 2026, with prices per one million characters.

Last verified October 10, 2026.

Details about OpenAI Text to Speech come from its public pages as they were on October 10, 2026. OpenAI Text to Speech may have changed them since, and a page that was unclear to us may be clear to you. Corrections: support@readaloudai.org. We make ReadAloud, so read this page with that in mind and check anything important with OpenAI Text to Speech directly.

About OpenAI Text to Speech

How OpenAI Text to Speech positions itself: OpenAI's Audio API speech endpoint, offering steerable gpt-4o-mini-tts and the earlier tts-1 and tts-1-hd models behind a single request shape that many tools and SDKs already support.

Price per 1 million characters

USD per one million characters, by tier. Other units are shown as the vendor writes them, not converted.

List prices: ReadAloud and OpenAI Text to Speech
OptionListed priceWhat it coversAgainst ReadAloud Live
ReadAloud Live$4 per 1M charactersthe low-latency tier, built for live calls and voice agentsReference point
ReadAloud Studio$10 per 1M charactersthe higher-priced tier for read-aloud and narration, with several English voices$6 above ReadAloud Live
OpenAI Text to Speech: tts-1$15 per 1M characters (source: developers.openai.com)Described in the OpenAI guide as the lower-latency option next to tts-1-hd. Supports 9 voices. Does not accept the instructions parameter.$11 higher than ReadAloud Live
OpenAI Text to Speech: tts-1-hd$30 per 1M characters (source: developers.openai.com)Listed above tts-1 on the OpenAI pricing page.$26 higher than ReadAloud Live
OpenAI Text to Speech: gpt-4o-mini-ttsVendor's own unit: USD per 1M tokens: $0.60 text input, $12.00 audio output; not converted (source: developers.openai.com)Token-billed, so cost per character depends on text and generated audio length; OpenAI states audio output is metered as tokens. Supports the instructions parameter and 13 voices; model page states max input is 2000 tokens.Not comparable: OpenAI Text to Speech lists a different unit

Every per-character list price we found for OpenAI Text to Speech, tts-1 at $15 and tts-1-hd at $30, is higher than both ReadAloud Live ($4) and ReadAloud Studio ($10) per 1M characters.

OpenAI Text to Speech's own headline, as of October 10, 2026: tts-1 is $15 per 1M characters; tts-1-hd is $30 per 1M characters; gpt-4o-mini-tts is $0.60 per 1M text input tokens and $12.00 per 1M audio output tokens.

Free tier at OpenAI Text to Speech: No free character or credit allowance stated on pages read. The tts-1 model page lists a Free rate-limit tier of 3 requests per minute and 200 per day. ReadAloud: A one-time grant of free credits worth $0.10 (about 10,000 characters of speech), shared by all keys on the account.

Tiers cover different things, so compare on your own monthly volume, and check OpenAI Text to Speech's pricing page before you decide. Current ReadAloud prices: /developers.

Side by side

"Not stated on the pages we reviewed" marks what OpenAI Text to Speech's pages did not say. We print no head-to-head latency number.

ReadAloud and OpenAI Text to Speech compared
TopicReadAloudOpenAI Text to Speech
VoicesLive: one American English voice. Studio: several English voices.13 built-in voices for gpt-4o-mini-tts (alloy, ash, ballad, coral, echo, fable, onyx, nova, sage, shimmer, verse, marin, cedar); 9 for tts-1 and tts-1-hd (source: developers.openai.com)
LanguagesEnglish todayFollows the language support of OpenAI's speech-to-text model (about 57 languages listed); voices are stated to be optimized for English (source: developers.openai.com)
Custom voices or cloningAPI, with a consent step and a payment methodCustom voices are limited to eligible customers (contact sales). Creating one needs a consent recording reading a prescribed phrase plus a sample of 30 seconds or less; maximum 20 voices per organization; the Text-to-Speech Supplemental Agreement applies. (source: developers.openai.com)
StreamingWebSocket and HTTP streamingWebSocket: not stated; HTTP streaming: yes (source: developers.openai.com)
Time to first audioReadAloud Live: about 250 ms (our measurement, median to first audio byte, warm connection, San Jose; October 10, 2026; /developers#vs-elevenlabs)Not stated on the pages we reviewed
Output formatsmp3, opus, wav, pcm; 8 kHz mu-law and A-law over WebSocketmp3 (default), opus, aac, flac, wav, pcm (24 kHz, 16-bit signed little-endian)
SSMLNo SSML and no audio tags.Not stated on the pages we reviewed
OpenAI-compatible speech endpointYes, /v1/audio/speechYes. This is the OpenAI speech request itself: POST /v1/audio/speech with model, input, voice, optional instructions, response_format, speed (0.25 to 4.0) and stream_format (sse or audio; sse not supported on tts-1 and tts-1-hd).
Limit per request5,000 characters4096 characters per request (API reference) (source: developers.openai.com)
ConcurrencyUp to 12 Live streams per server; more start under loadRate limits by usage tier. tts-1: Free 3 RPM / 200 RPD, Build 2,500 RPM, Launch 7,500 RPM, Grow 10,000 RPM. gpt-4o-mini-tts: Build 2,000 RPM / 150,000 TPM, Launch 10,000 RPM, Grow 10,000 RPM. (source: developers.openai.com)
SDKs and pluginsPython and JavaScript libraries (readaloud), Pipecat and LiveKit plugins, any OpenAI SDKNode.js / TypeScript, Python, Go, Java, C# / .NET, Ruby and OpenAI CLI
HIPAANot claimedNot stated on the pages we reviewed
SOC 2Not claimedNot stated on the pages we reviewed
GDPRNot claimedNot stated on the pages we reviewed

About OpenAI Text to Speech's compliance wording: No compliance statements were found on the speech documentation or pricing pages read; OpenAI publishes security and privacy material elsewhere that was not reviewed.

What OpenAI Text to Speech lists as strengths

Conditions to check with OpenAI Text to Speech

Limits or conditions from the pages we reviewed.

OpenAI Text to Speech usage terms

From the vendor pages we reviewed; not legal advice.

  • Attribution or conditions: OpenAI usage policies require a clear disclosure to end users that the TTS voice is AI-generated and not a human voice. (source: developers.openai.com)

Where ReadAloud is different

  • Voices: OpenAI Text to Speech lists 13 built-in voices for gpt-4o-mini-tts (alloy, ash, ballad, coral, echo, fable, onyx, nova, sage, shimmer, verse, marin, cedar); 9 for tts-1 and tts-1-hd. ReadAloud: Live: one American English voice. Studio: several English voices. (source: developers.openai.com)
  • Custom voices, as OpenAI Text to Speech's pages describe them: Custom voices are limited to eligible customers (contact sales). Creating one needs a consent recording reading a prescribed phrase plus a sample of 30 seconds or less; maximum 20 voices per organization; the Text-to-Speech Supplemental Agreement applies. (source: developers.openai.com)
  • Switching: both list an OpenAI-compatible speech endpoint, so a base URL, a key and a voice name may be all that changes. The OpenAI stock voice names all map to readaloud-default.

Which one fits

OpenAI Text to Speech may suit you if this describes you: developers already on the OpenAI SDK who want steerable speech or a per-character model without adding another vendor, and who mainly synthesize English.

ReadAloud may suit you for streaming English speech at a low price per character.

What we could not confirm about OpenAI Text to Speech

  • Per-character equivalent cost for gpt-4o-mini-tts (token-billed)
  • Whether the speech endpoint offers WebSocket streaming (the separate Realtime API does)
  • SSML support (no SSML parameter in the API reference read)
  • Commercial-use statement for generated audio (not found on pages read)
  • SOC 2, HIPAA and GDPR statements (not on pages read)
  • Vendor-stated latency figures (none quoted)
  • tts-1-hd price confirmed on pricing page and model page quick comparison as a table row; rate limit rows for tts-1-hd not read

Sources